January 3, 2017
Greg Boysen

Fan voting for the four captains at the 2017 NHL All-Star game ended on Monday and league announced the winners on Tuesday. 

The fans have voted goaltender Carey Price of the Montreal Canadiens (Atlantic Division), Pittsburgh Penguins forward Sidney Crosby (Metropolitan Division), Nashville Predators defenseman P.K. Subban (Central Division) and forward Connor McDavid (Pacific Division) as the captains of the four teams taking part in the 3-on-3 tournament. 

The only major surprise is Subban getting the most votes in the Central Division in his first season with the Nashville Predators.  He had to beat out established stars in the Central like Jamie Benn, Patrick Kane and Jonathan Toews.

This year’s festivities will be held at the Staples Center on January 27-29 as part of the Los Angeles Kings’ season-long celebration of their 50th anniversary.  Each of the four divisional teams will be made up of 11 total players: six forwards, three defenseman and two goaltenders.  The two Eastern Conference teams will play each other in semi-final with the two Western Conference teams meeting in the other.  The two winners will meet in the final game.  All three games will be 20 minutes in length.  

Source: NHL
Image Credit: Montreal Gazette