The NHL made it official today and announced that the city of Seattle has been awarded an NHL franchise and will become the league's 32nd team. 

Seattle was originally supposed to join the league in 2020 according to early reports, however due to the arena renovations the team will jump in during 2021. 

While that meet seem far away for now, there's some players that are already protected from the 2021 expansion draft thanks to their no movement clauses. 

Of course like Marc-Andre Fleury did with the Pittsburgh Penguins, a player can waive his no movement clause to make himself eligible however it's usually pretty rare. 

As of right now 34 players are automatically protected and the Chicago Blackhawks, Dallas Stars and Pittsburgh Penguins lead the way with 4 protected players each. 

More contracts will be signed between now and 2021 which will likely feature no movement clauses, but for now let's take a look at who's not automatically protected. 

Arizona -Oliver Ekman-Larsson

Boston - Patrice Bergeron, Brad Marchand

Carolina - Jordan Staal

Chicago Blackhawks - Jonathan Toews, Patrick Kane, Duncan Keith, Brent Seabrook

Colorado - Erik Johnson

Dallas - Tyler Seguin, Jamie Benn, Alexander Radulov, Ben Bishop

Detroit - Frans Nielson

Edmonton - Milan Lucic

Florida - Keith Yandle, Jonathan Huberdeau

Los Angeles - Drew Doughty

Minnesota - Zach Parise, Ryan Suter

Montreal - Carey Price

New York Rangers - Mika Zibanejad

Philadelphia - Claude Giroux

Pittsburgh - Evgeni Malkin, Sidney Crosby, Phil Kessel, Kris Letang

San Jose - Marc-Edouard Vlasic

Tampa Bay - Nikita Kucherov, Steven Stamkos, Victor Hedman

Toronto - John Tavares

Winnipeg - Blake Wheeler

Image Credit: Stephen B. Morton/The Associated Press