Canada has won each of the last two men’s ice hockey gold medals at the Winter Olympics with players like Sidney Crosby, Drew Doughty, Corey Perry and Jonathan Toews, but the big names will not be part of the 2018 roster.

Team Canada announced their non-NHL roster for next month’s tournament and it is a major drop off in talent from what we have been used to seeing, much like the United States.

23 of the Canada’s 25 players have NHL experience with the most notable of them being Rene Bourque, Mason Raymond, Derek Roy and Wotjek Wolski.


Rene Bourque, Djurgardens IF (SHL)

Gilbert Brule, Kunlun Red Star (KHL)

Andrew Ebbett, SC Bern (NLA)

Quinton Howden, Dinamo Minsk (KHL)

Chris Kelly, Belleville (AHL)

Rob Klinkhammer, Ak Bars Kazan (KHL)

Brandon Kozun, Lokomotiv (KHL)

Maxim Lapierre, HC Lugano (NLA)

Eric O’Dell, HC Sochi (KHL)

Mason Raymond, SC Bern (NLA)

Derek Roy, Linkoping HC (SHL)

Christian Thomas, Wilkes-Barre (AHL)

Linden Vey, Barys Astana (KHL)

Wojtek Wolski, Metallurg Magnitogorsk (KHL)


Stefan Elliott, HV71 (SHL)

Chay Genoway, Lada Togliatti (KHL)

Cody Goloubef, Stockton (AHL)

Marc-Andre Gragnani, HC Dinamo Minsk (KHL)

Chris Lee, Metallurg Magnitogorsk (KHL)

Maxim Noreau, SC Bern (NLA)

Mat Robinson, CSKA Moscow (KHL)

Karl Stollery, Dinamo Riga (KHL)


Justin Peters, Kolner Hale (DEL)

Kevin Poulin, Medvescak Zagreb (EBEL)

Ben Scrivens, Salavat Yulaev Ufa (KHL)

Source: Team Canada
Image Credit: Team Canada